Questions about Graduate School

As a continuation of our ‘Path to Graduate School’ topic, we are looking to answer the most important questions that the un-initiated may have about graduate school.

Below you will find 15 questions under three broad categories that are often on the minds of post-baccalaureate students while they contemplate their future education.  Please skim the questions, and as a comment please add additional questions that you think are important.  Please comment your additional questions by Friday 11/1/2013, and they will be added to the survey that will be sent out to the SOEST graduate student body for answering.  Their answers will be posted soon thereafter.

Deciding to go to grad school

  1. When do I go to grad school and when do I decide?  Immediately after I receive my bachelor’s degree?  After an internship?  When?
  2. How much does it cost to go to graduate school? How much money will I need to live on?
  3. How long will it take me to complete my graduate degree?
  4. What if I want to go to grad school, but am not sure which field to choose?
  5. How much money will I make after I get out of grad school?

I decided Yes!: how best to apply to grad school

  1. Should I apply to the graduate program at the same place I’m getting my undergraduate degree or go someplace different?
  2. What can I do to get into graduate school if my grades aren’t very good?  – What could improve my chances of getting into  graduate school?
  3. Is it possible to switch fields? Can I get into a different field than the one I was in for my undergraduate degree?
  4. Can I get my graduate degree from an institution outside the U.S.?
  5. How many programs should I apply to?
  6. Should I apply for a master’s or doctoral degree program?

 I got in! How to survive grad school

  1. I got into a graduate program, should I take time off before starting graduate studies?
  2. What are the best tips for surviving grad school?
  3. What sort of career planning/professional development will I need to be doing while I’m in grad school?
  4. Should I do a T.A. or a R.A.? Is this enough to live off of or should I get a student loan?
Leave a Reply

